Old Job, I Wish You Hell

My former co-worker New Tech sent me a text today letting me know he got another job. I know I wrote several posts ago when I first left my previous job that I was hoping he’d get another job pretty quickly after my leaving so that my former employer would really be screwed. This is my third week at my new job, which is not quick enough for me–but it’ll do. 😉

On top of that, he let me know that the guy they hired, what, four or five weeks ago–the one whom my supervisor wouldn’t put on tech support and give me my old, better, less stressful job back–has already quit. No notice, either, from what I understand. Love it.

Background info for those who care and/or just so you understand why I want, particularly, my old supervisor to be in a situation where he’s pulling what little bit is left of his hair out.

So, now my old supervisor once again has to find someone new to work tech support while the company already has a newbie there, and he also has to find another new employee for desktop support. Remember, this dude’s excuse as to why he wouldn’t put me back in the better, more enjoyable job that I had is he didn’t want two new people on tech support. The guy who quit wanted to do tech support. Maybe if he had been put in that position, he’d still be there. My supervisor lost me in part for the same type of reason. And now not only does he have all this turnover, he will have basically two brand-spanking new people on tech support. He always was going to have relatively new people on tech support, one way or another. It’s a losing battle for him, one that didn’t have to turn out as badly as it has.

I knew schitt would fall apart when I left, and it’s happening. Again, I do feel sorry for the company’s employees who rely on the IT department, because they are going to suffer with all the new people working the interactive positions–especially with the lack of training that newbies receive and with how long it really takes to learn the ropes there. But if I had been treated better, I would still be there and would at least be helping, would be a more experienced worker who is still around to help until new people on tech support got up to speed (as opposed to the guy who is supposed to help new employees but just sits around texting all day and takes off early and whatnot. I was, by far, the most helpful person to New Tech when I worked at that company) while predominantly doing the job I liked.

But, sorry as I may feel for the other employees, I still had to laugh when I was getting these text messages because the IT department over there is screwed up with all these lazy men “working” in it, including my former supervisor. It deserves as much trouble as it can get. People at my new job work, even when they really don’t have to and even though they don’t make good money. They’ll stay late, they’ll go find work if they don’t have any, they will do what’s “beneath” them, most of which I’ve started to do (yeah, good luck with that “staying late” thing, haha)…and I respect that. My old employer just doesn’t have my respect.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

