My New Job and Co-Workers

Finally, I have a job I like. Well…as much as I can possibly like a job. But I don’t have headaches every day anymore or tight neck/shoulder muscles from stress. In fact, I experience pretty much no stress at work. I am doing the kind of work I want to be doing. I get off work fairly early. I like a lot of the people I work with, and I already have a bunch of “work friends.” People there are nice, and there’s tons of racial/ethnic diversity. People there actually work. I can find quiet places to go when I want to be alone/listen to music–I can even listen to music while I work. I don’t have to worry about how long my breaks are or being able to take breaks because no one is monitoring me and I’m not too busy to take breaks. Best of all…no phone calls and no whining people to help with annoying issues.

I can’t believe how well this seems to have worked out so far. I would say I should have taken this job back in November when it was first offered to me because I could have been happy and stress-free all this time, but I had good reasons for not taking it. I made more money at the job I left, which has allowed me to build up my bank account. And even now, I make more money at my new job than what I was being offered in November.

There are three issues, though, in order from least serious to most serious:

1) It’s a little farther from my house than I care for. I damn-near have to go to another state or county to get to work. I’ve seen parts of my hometown that I’ve never seen before trying to go to this job. I didn’t know this job was as far away as it is, partially because I got it through an employment agency and never went there until I checked it out this past weekend, and partially because the company for which I work has a bunch of different locations and I assumed I’d be working at a different one that is closer to home. I didn’t know this location existed, and there was no reason for me to know it.

2) I have to get up earlier in the morning. I’m not a morning person, plus with this job being farther from home…it’s not easy. I have to adjust to getting up at ridiculous hours and trying to find ways to force myself to go to bed early again. But like I wrote, the flipside of this is I get off work early.

3) I have a lot of downtime. Yeah, this is my most serious complaint (i.e. these issues are not that big of a deal, especially compared to what I’ve been through with jobs the last two years). I want to do work at work. I want there to be a laptop or computer waiting to be repaired when I get to work…finish it…be handed another one to work on, and on and on until the end of the day. I don’t want to have to try and find schitt to do half the work day. And anyways, eventually, once someone important notices I don’t do work for four hours but I get paid for those four hours, it’s going to be a problem. I also don’t want to end up having to do schitt I didn’t come to this place to do, which is what employers love to have people do when they don’t have enough work. Just give me computers and laptops to repair. No, I don’t understand why this place is hiring, either, if I’m not going to have enough work.

I think maybe it was expected that it’d take me longer to repair computers and laptops I work on than it does, and that might be why I don’t have work. The only other formal repair job I had hounded employees to get work done fast, whereas this place cares more about quality and is not emphasizing how quickly the work is completed. I’m used to a quality/quantity mix, so I get computers/laptops and have them for only about 30 minutes-to-an hour and then the original issue is resolved when I test these units. One of my co-workers who has been at this place for years asked me if I had done this kind of work before and told me I seem more knowledgeable than a lot of people who come through there.

Speaking of co-workers, since I love to write about them in my blog here’s a little about each of the new cast members you’re most likely to read about here (fake names, pretty much as usual):

Linda: Kind of like the lame white guy at my last job was, the one who thought he was cool and always sat on his @ss texting on his iPhone…Linda is supposed to be my go-to person for help/questions. But Linda is actually very cool. Linda might also be the only–if not, she’s in a small group–physically attractive female where I work, which is a very good thing. I could pretty much tell she is straight, though, and then it was confirmed on the second day of work that she has a husband. There’s something about straight women…I almost never get seriously interested in them, and knowing early on that she is straight is going to ensure that I don’t end up interested. Plus, I’ve got mad respect for Linda because she is Asian and actually married an Asian man. It just feels like you don’t see that anymore…I don’t know the last time I saw an Asian American (born/raised in the US) in his/her 20s or early 30s with another Asian person. Even my previous job recruiter was with a white woman. I know some people don’t get why this matters, but cookies for those who do and cookies for Linda.

Dan: Don’t know what his exact job title is, but Linda says he is my manager’s right-hand man (I rarely see my manager). So I guess he is one of my managers. He’s cool so far, but aren’t they always, in the beginning? And don’t they pretty much always eventually turn into dicks (or at least the men do, in my experience)? Stay tuned for the transformation.

Clara: She’s my crazy co-worker. I can already tell either she or Linda will end up my “best work friend,” or maybe both of them will (yes, two women and not two guys…amazing, I know!!). She’s outgoing, which are the kind of people who end up becoming my good friends. She says crazy schitt. She’s Asian like Linda (different ethnicities), but she has a little blackness to her personality and voice/speech…wonder if she grew up around or went to school with a lot of black people.

Jim: He’s this weird, big, old guy who used to do repair where I previously did repairs. There are a lot of people who used to work where I did repairs working at my new job, which doesn’t surprise me–I figured I’d see some of those people. This dude keeps harping on the fact that I have a college degree. I mean, every…single…time he speaks to me he says something about it. On my first day on the job, he walked up to me and the second thing out of his mouth was that he remembers I have a Bachelor’s degree. I bet he doesn’t remember my name, though. And then he can never remember what my degree is in, so he asks every time he talks to me. I remember this guy likes to talk, too, so I know he’ll come up with more random, annoying schitt I’ll have to share here. He already told me he got laid off at the job we previously shared, which just means he was one of the low performers doing repairs. Sorry, man–can’t relate.

There might end up being a few more people, but that’s it for now.

Okay, I like my job and all…but I’m still so glad I don’t have to get up early and go to work tomorrow.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

