How A Tech Geek Spends Money Frivously

So, I’m about to admit something that’s totally silly.

There’s one particular thing I’ve thought I’d do if I were rich. The average rich person always seems to have three or four houses and multiple expensive cars.

Me? I’d buy a bunch of cell phones.

This is particularly nonsensical, given that I barely talk on the phone. I’m not even into texting. Having minutes is a waste of money. I primarily use my iPhone for music and applications and the internet.

I tend not to be swayed by commercials, but there’s one type of commercial that always seems to get me interested in the advertised product–cell phone commercials. Being somewhat of a tech geek, I always wonder about the phone’s features and want to try them out.

A couple of posts ago, I mentioned that I’m really enjoying making more money. I might have also mentioned previously on this blog that I don’t really have a lot of self-control when it comes to having money. The more money I have, the more money I spend. I’m not a saver. Still, unlike a lot of people who are like me and don’t make a special amount of money, I do have a lot of money saved. It’s just that when I want something, I go ahead and buy it.

Yep–I broke down and bought another cell phone. Those Samsung commercials, in particular, were absolutely killing me. I couldn’t take it anymore. I ordered a Samsung Galaxy S III. It arrived in the mail on Thursday, and I have been having an awesome time with it.

So, now I have two cell phones, and I’ll be keeping both. The iPhone is on a Sprint plan; the Samsung isn’t. So, aside from buying a few apps, the Samsung isn’t going to cost me more money per month, because I downloaded an app that will let me make and receive calls and texts as long as the Samsung is connected to wifi. But for the most part, I won’t be using the Samsung as a phone–it’ll be used for everything else, kind of like my iPhone is currently used.

Even though my fantasy has been to have a bunch of different phones, I’ll likely get rid of my iPhone eventually or get the Samsung activated with Sprint while deactivating my iPhone and leaving it to collect dust. See, anyone who loves the iPhone–and I have loved my iPhone–would probably love a Samsung Galaxy. They’re basically the same phone–except Samsung has taken the iPhone a step or two further. It’s better in most ways that I can think of, or at least most ways that matter to me. It’s the bigger, faster, less restricted, less block-y/bulky and seemingly less buggy iPhone. Almost every app I have problems with on the iPhone works a lot better on this Samsung, and I have yet to see an app open up and then just shut down in the middle of usage or almost immediately. It also has the best app I’ve found for making my music sound the way I want it to (Poweramp).

The only thing I’d hate about making the switch is that I rely pretty heavily on Smart Playlists that I create in iTunes and sync to my iPhone and iPod Touch. But I could probably live without them, seeing as how the reason I use them is to make sure I’m not hearing the same songs all the time…and I still somehow end up hearing a lot of the same songs often. Well, and one other thing–the app I probably use more than any other is not available on Androids (ooTunes, which has just about every radio station). I’m working on finding a satisfactory substitute app on Androids.

But doing this comparing and contrasting is why I’ve wanted to have different phones, so it’s cool to financially be in the position where I feel I can afford to buy and try two different phones. I guess I need to remember that when I wake up in the morning pouting about having to go to work?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

